Paleo Potsticker Burgers with Spicy Asian Slaw

Let me break it down for you, I LOVE me some potstickers. They are super tasty, compact bombs of flavor with a tasty dipping sauce and I live to eat them. When I first went gluten free, my mom was on the search for a gluten free potsticker wrapper so she could make some gluten free potstickers for me. We never found one (though to be fair, we stopped looking because I stopped when G.F. eating wasn’t helping). Now that I’m Paleo, the same problem applies – I cannot eat potstickers (while compliant) because of the dough.

This is a PROBLEM! I constantly crave potstickers and while I found a GREAT substitute for fried rice, it doesn’t quite meet my Chinese food needs. Without a good potsticker, I just feel.. lacking.

Then, as I was searching for Paleo recipes the other day, I came across this recipe for Paleo potsticker burgers with spicy Asian slaw as a side. It became my mission to try this recipe to see if it would quench my thirst for potstickers!

Paleo Potsticker Burgers:

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound of ground turkey
  • 1 egg
  • 3-4 tablespoons Coconut Aminos
  • 2 green onions, sliced
  • 1 1/2 cups coleslaw mix
  • 2 tablespoons minced or micro-planed ginger
  • 1 clove garlic, minced

Directions:

  1. Mix all the ingredients together in a bowl. Don’t be afraid to get your hands dirty! The mixture may be a little “wet” when you get done – that’s okay, mine was and it cooked up just fine!
  2. Preheat a skillet to medium heat and grease with your preferred fat. I used coconut oil because that’s what I prefer but you can use another fat if you like.
  3. Cook burgers about 5-6 minutes per side.
  4. Remove from skillet and top with Spicy Asian Slaw.
  5. Eat.

Spicy Asian Slaw:

Ingredients:

  • 4 tablespoons Coconut Aminos
  • 3 tablespoons rice wine vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon water
  • 1/2 tablespoon sesame oil
  • 1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes (I used a squirt of Sriracha instead)
  • 1/8 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon ginger powder
  • 2 green onions sliced
  • Remainder of coleslaw mix from package.

Instructions:

  1. Mix all ingredients except coleslaw mix. (I wisked everything in the bottom of a big bowl)
  2. Toss coleslaw mix in the dressing mixture.
  3. Let marinate in the fridge until burgers are done (if you do this prior to making the burgers)

The Verdict:

So how was it? It was okay. It wasn’t as banging as my Paleo fried rice was for sure, but it wasn’t terrible. I think my problem was that while there was potsticker flavor, it was missing something though I’m having a hard time putting my finger on what exactly was missing. I think next time, I will try adding some Red Boat fish sauce to the burgers for more flavor. I’m also having my flavor analyst (my husband) taste later to let me know what he thinks could be added to make them better.

The slaw was good but I think it could have used a little honey or other sugar to balance out the acid in the vinegar. Still, pretty tasty if you ask me 🙂

As always, if I try new recipes or alter existing ones, I will update and post here. I hope everyone had a great weekend and is looking forward to a good week!

As always, keep up the good work!

 

Leave a comment